MMO update

N.B: another Firefall vid, a 2nd Secret World trailer and some Wildstar alpha gameplay footage added!

So now that PAX and Gamescom are done and dusted, its time for a very quick review of some of the MMOs that I have been keeping tabs on.

If you remember from my previous post on this (if you never saw that one find it here) I was tracking games like Guild Wars 2, Firefall, The Secret World and Star Wars: Knights of the Old Republic.

This post will give you a bit more of a taste of a couple of those as well as introduce a newly announced MMO that I would encourage you to have a look at: Wildstar.

Here’s a few promo vids to tickle your tastebuds:

Wildstar

This game is being developed by a new group called Carbine Studios, staffed with a bunch of MMO developers from around the industry and has a heavy fan influence.  Features such as double jump and limited sprint have all been incorporated at fans’ request.  With quest text limited to 140 characters ala Twitter, this is one to look out for if you are not a heavy quest text (read lore) driven MMOer.  Note the gameplay footage is reported to be at an alpha release stage.

The Secret World

I have already signed up for the Beta – check out their website for further info.  P.S. I am going Templar!

Firefall

OK, I am genuinely excited about this one.  Created by some former Blizzard employees, I think the art direction looks great, and some of the gameplay elements (Tribes baby!) look fantastic.  Oh, did I mention it’s Free-to-Play?

Guild Wars 2

This one shows some of the character creation, early questing and one of the Dragon Champion boss fights; Tequatl the Sunless.

I am a little less excited about SWOTR now that it isn’t being released here in Australia at launch.  Will revisit it once we have a confirmed release date over here.

Till next time,

V

13 responses to “MMO update

  • iLLuSioN

    I am definitely looking forward to playing FireFall. I have been a long time follower of the game and it continues to excite me every time I see it.

  • ImOnTheRadio

    The firefall trailer (and the game itself) was clearly the best thing on this post. Nice to hear that you’re excited about the game, welcome to the club :D Maybe we’ll be squashing some bugs and chosen together some day ^^

  • TheJayde

    Firefall is the game you really should be paying attention to here. It is the best game you’re not going to ever really hear much of unless you’re seeking it out. Though that may change. They may be doing the advertisements now, instead of making us wait forever for the game to actually come out.

  • Alx223

    The beta for Firefall is right around the corner so I’m looking forward to that. Some of the developers also worked on Tribes along with world of warcraft so it should be good. They seem to want a competitive environment in the PvP so I’m quite excited for some tough competition. Since its free to play what do we have to lose?

  • SoulOfOrigin

    I’m also very excited about Firefall. The closed beta starts at the end of this week, and I really hope I get in it. The game looks really fun, I’ve heard from several people who played it at PAX that they really enjoyed playing it. The trailers for the game also keep getting better :p This game brings the quality of an AAA game to a Free 2 Play game

  • JBWill

    I love that Firefall video, gives a really epic intro to the world of the game. I wish I could have made it out to PAX Prime to get my hands on it.

  • Illian.Amerond

    The secret world looks to be a very interesting game, the whole idea of build your own character class is truly smexy indeed. I really got into the Firefall content since it came out earlier this year, it is really amazing to learn that it has been under dev for over 5 years now.

    Looks like December will bring more than just Christmas cheer ;) looking forward to dive right into this game and get lost!

  • Hoder

    We’ve actually already had a more recent trailer from the game Firefall. They released a trailer for pax prime where they showed off some of the lore, awesome graphics and some more gameplay.

    Be sure to keep checking the game out as beta should be launching pretty quickly now.

  • Jamin

    Secret world sure does look intriguing if it is set to be an MMO.

    Also, you can see the remnants of Blizzard in the “Firefall” game. Has aN “Avatar” feeling about it,

    – Jamin

  • Voros

    Wow, so many people excited about Firefall! I just love everything I’ve seen from it so far – the art, the gameplay, looks great.

    With it being F2P, there is an added drawcard but at the same time a slight sense of trepidation.

    For the first time (imo), there are a number of MMOs on the way that will actually seriously tempt me to shift my MMO focus. Of course the final proof will be found in the pudding, but I am quietly optimistic about whats on the near(!) horizon.

    V

  • uz3r013

    Wildstar made me laugh, it looks interesting and depending on when it comes out i might check it out, but with a full dancecard for the next 5-6 months i will have little time for any new games. That said Firefall has most of my “dances” taken and i will be preoccupied with jetjumping tangos for a good long time.

  • Voros

    Wildstar looks… interesting. The gameplay videos look ok. I’m not a big lore person or quest text reader, I tend to just look for the objectives and go get them done asap. Wildstar is kind of dropping that aspect of MMOs from what I have seen of it, so it will be interesting to see if that resonates with the fan base or not.

    I’m just hoping I get into the Beta for Firefall!

    V

  • ‘Tis a good time to be a gamer « The Other Tank

    [...] have featured a few of the MMOs I am keeping a close eye on a couple of times (see here and here) but this time I’m going to list a few of the games in general that I am looking [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 129 other followers

