If only these were the new WoW graphics…

By now, most of you who read sites such as MMO-Champion or the WoW site itself will have seen the three digital landscape images that Blizzard have posted in their Burning Crusade Artwork section.

For those of you who haven’t, here they are:

Hellfire Peninsula

The Blasted Lands

Nagrand

Now I don’t know about you, but if I logged onto WoW and zoned into a world that actually looked like this, I would just about wet myself.  These images are simply gorgeous.  I am usually a bit ho-hum about some of the art that Blizz puts up on the site but these are a cut above the norm.

Imagine the screen shot potential with visuals like these…  I think I may just go and put these on a rotating set of three for my desktop background, replacing my current General Vezax panorama.  Please, please, please Blizzard will you produce some more of these!  They remind me of some of the digital landscapes to found on sites such as Deviant Art, which by the way if you haven’t spent a good few hours browsing, you most certainly should.

If one day in the future you decide to overhaul WoW’s ageing graphics engine Blizzard, please make it look like this (or at the very least like your cinematics!).

Till next time,

V

5 responses to “If only these were the new WoW graphics…

  • jamin1993

    If only, If only…

    – Jamin

  • shadowshiftr

    dunno, two of these I took recently are pretty nice:

  • Voros

    I guess my main gripe with the current graphics is the abundance of very bland textures. They seem to plaster whole regions in them which, after seeing images such as the 3 in my post pale in comparison and have a very outdated feel to them. When we see the types of graphics coming in games like Guild Wars 2, it soon becomes obvious that WoW has long passed its use by date when it comes to its graphical engine.

    Having said that it is still possible to find great shots around the WoW world!

    V

  • shadowshiftr

    Except that has always been the case. I remember coming to WoW shortly after the open beta some years ago and thinking “god the graphics are crappy”..

    Yet many years later, here I am, still playing WoW despite the graphics being dated. Sometimes there’s more to games than just the graphics and I think in the case of WoW that something is the depth of the lore and story lines as well as the relationships that are formed within the game. At least for me, those are what keep me coming back.

Leave a Reply

